This week’s post brought to you by the colour GREEN

Since I have a slight bit of writer’s block tonight, I’ll just quickly fill you in on what I’ve been working on this week without too much in the way of rhetoric.

~~~

May Mystery Socks

May Mystery Socks - Clue 1

This month’s Sock Knitters Anonymous Mystery Sock is by one of my favorite sock designers Janel Laidman.

Using up the seemingly unending stash of Scheepjeswol Invicta Extra in electric green. (I was given 3 balls of it from a destash – 2 pairs of socks later I still have 2 balls. There is something distictly odd about this yarn. But I digress…)

The beads I’m using for the socks are from a mixed batch of #6 Miyuki Glass Beads in greens with an Aurora Borealis finish.

Still trying to think of a better name for these pretty socks, something Irish maybe…

~~~

Garden Stroll Socks

Garden Stroll Socks - Sock #1 Complete

Finished the first sock! Ain’t it cute? 😀

~~~

Crocodilian Socks

Crocodilian Socks - Sock #2 Toe

Finished the toe of the second sock and started on the entrelac instep.

~~~

Cotton Mini-Basket

Cotton Mini-Basket Empty

Needed a container that could hold an entire box of cotton swabs in the bathroom – so worked up this adorable little thing during a hockey game (go Vancouver!) using some #20 Cotton Crochet Thread held quadrupled with a 3mm hook for a nice tight gauge.

Couldn’t be happier 🙂

Cotton Mini-Basket - Full

Worked out so well it got me thinking that I may design a crocheted box for all those DVDs I organized last week.

~~~

Evenstar Shawl

Evenstar Shawl - Clue 6 Complete

I finished Clue 6 last night (YAYYYYY!!!!) and after much thought and consultation decided to skip the beads on the border to avoid problems for the baby it is intended for.

Hoping to have this finished by next week and a good start made on the rest of the Christening set for our nephew.

(He’s due next month – OMGMUSTKNITFASTER)

~~~

Sweater Recycling Program

Since it was such a gorgeous (if a bit chilly) spring day today, it got me thinking about warm weather yarns and my lack of them.

So I pulled out one of the thriftstore sweaters I had put aside for “upcycling” and had a lovely time dismantling it.

Recycled Cotton Blend Yarn

This particular sweater I really liked but it didn’t quite sit right on my frame and so warranted a re-work. I even got a couple of matching buttons in the deal!

The yarn is a cotton/acrylic/nylon/wool blend, approximately a DK wt and the sweater yielded 7 balls at approx 52g/209yds each (total = 1463yds) Not too shabby.

Thinking using it for a nice big shrug-style open cardigan or perhaps a tunic. We’ll see.

TTFN.

Published in: on May 5, 2011 at 11:25 pm  Leave a Comment  
Tags: , , , , ,

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://alynxia.wordpress.com/2011/05/05/brought-to-you-by-the-colour-green/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

Leave a Reply

