It’s been a rough week…

But somehow I’ve managed to muddle my way through it and accomplish most of what I set out to do.

~~~

Finished Objects

Today is darling hubby BadgerDan’s birthday and his Torontonian Socks were done with a few days to spare.

Torontonian Socks Complete

The man loves vintage colourwork socks and I am happy to indulge him – once a year.

Torontonian Socks Done

He proudly donned his “hep” hosiery this morning and couldn’t stop smiling. (Until I went for my camera, then he skedaddled off to work. Dammit.)

Happy Birthday Honey – I love you. (And yes, next year you can have argyle.)

Windsbraut Manaus

Windsbraut Manaus turned out to be a 3-parter and easily finished.

I’m quite surprised how little of the Zauberball (col. 1966 “Spring Meadow”) it ended up using. The entire shawl only took about 335yds on 3.75mm needles and came out to about 62″ wide by 25″ long. There’s a good quarter of the ball leftover.

If you have a hank of Colinette Jitterbug in your stash that is languishing due to the short yardage, this might be a good project for it. Just a suggestion.

March 2011 Mystery Socks

The March Mystery Socks were completed yesterday. I really love this colourway of Zitron Trekking XXL (col. 76), which probably explains why it took me so long to use it. Deliciously grapey – I may have to find more.

~~~

WIPs

My Dreamscape Shawl (aka “In Dreams”) is up to date at Clue 4:

Dreamscape Shawl, Clue 4

And since I get a little twitchy when there isn’t a pair of socks on the go…

La Vie de Bois Socks - 1

This morning I cast on “La Vie de Bois Socks” designed by my friend Heather of Highland Handmades with some Indigo Moon Merino Superwash in their “Lichen & Moss” colourway.

La Vie de Bois Socks - 2

“La Vie de Bois” translates to “Life in the Woods”. Lichen, moss… I think it works.

Everything else on the needles/hook remain (mostly) at the same stage as last week.

~~~

My rough week started last Thursday with me somehow spraining the trapezius muscle in my right shoulder (I think I did it while moving our new mattress) and I’ve been in varying amounts of pain ever since. Liberal applications of Vicks Vapo-rub & extra-strength Tylenol seem to have me on the mend now, but it’s still bugging me a little.

Yes, I knit through the pain, keeping my shoulders as still as possible and not making any sudden moves with my head. (Working all those beads into the shawl was a treat, let me tell you. Doing the laundry was quite fun as well. Especially when we ran out of both coffee & Tylenol earlier this week.)

But the toughest part of my week came yesterday evening via phone from my mom.

My maternal grandmother Lucille passed away last night at 7pm.

She had been sick for a long time and went peacefully at her nursing home (I believe) in the company of my uncle Paul – her eldest son. My mom was able to see her on Sunday with my father to say goodbye.

She is survived by her 3 children, 9 grandchildren and 3 great-grandchildren (2 of which are due within the next few months).

I am the eldest of the nine and have many fond memories of her from the summers of my youth at the cottage on Balsam Lake. I prefer to remember her that way before the illnesses took their heavy toll.

Grandmaman was a devout Catholic her entire life and I pray that she finds peace among the Angels and Saints she so treasured.

Take care of her for us Mary. We miss her.

Published in: on March 24, 2011 at 10:52 pm  Comments (1)  
Tags: , , , , ,

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://alynxia.wordpress.com/2011/03/24/its-been-a-rough-week/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

One CommentLeave a comment

  1. I *love* the Torontonian socks. They look very deco.

    Sorry to hear about your grandmother.


Leave a Reply

