Blogging on my own terms

Let’s just put it out there. I haven’t the faintest idea of how to “journal”. I’m not even comfortable with the term. And don’t even get me started on scrapbooking – the point fully escapes me.

I think this is partially why I haven’t written here in so long. There has been a lot going on in these last seven months in my life, the lives of my family & friends and the world at large that I felt that I needed to step back and re-assess things.

Certainly, there has been an assembly line of items coming off my hook, needles, wheel and spindles. This is what has been keeping me sane. It allows me to think and reflect on different situations and my place within them. My inner dialogues are vast in their scope and, for the most part, not shared with others.

I think it’s time for this to change.

There is rich, delicious (gluten-free) cake under all the fluffy frosting I’ve been posting here these last years and it’s high time you guys tasted it.

One crafts their own lives just as they craft a stitch or a garment.

The title I gave this blog so long ago – “Musings on a Crafty Life” – has been mostly lost on me all this time as I was trying to figure out how this all worked.

Not anymore.

I think I’ve finally realized what I want this to be is a reflection of who I am, not just what comes from my hands. There are so many layers of meaning to what I do, why I do them and how they manifest which are deeply personal.

Sharing these layers in writing may not come as quickly or as easily to me as it may for some, but shared they must be lest they be lost.

The written word is a powerful medium, one that seems quite permanent in my mind.

I’ve been a voracious reader for most of my life and I find a lot of comfort in books. They are, depending on subject, a source of accessible knowledge, entertainment and, many times, company in the face of hardship when there is no other place to turn.

Perhaps, even though I may find it difficult, sharing my “braindroppings” from this little corner of the Internet can have positive impact on the world.

This intrepid crafty hermit is going to give it a go.

Come along with me … and wish me luck.

~~~

Current Knitting Projects:

Moderne Log Cabin Blanket
Evenstar Shawl
Wicked Twists Mystery Socks
Not So Plain Winter Socks
Chocolate-Dipped Cherry Socks
Grenouille Socks
Countdown to Yule Scarf

Current Crochet Projects:

Classic Tweed Shawl

Recently Completed Projects:

2010 Sampler Afghan
Kuri Kimono
Mahogany Mystery Hat
Midnight Mystery Hat

Published in: on December 1, 2010 at 7:40 pm  Comments (5)  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://alynxia.wordpress.com/2010/12/01/blogging-on-my-own-terms/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

5 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. great blog… you share what you want… and we are here to support… sharing a lot of yourself is a brave step. 🙂

  2. Wishing you the best of luck on your journey! I’ll be right here with you 🙂

  3. I always enjoy seeing what you knit. You make some beautiful items.

  4. It’s always pretty scary to put something of yourself out there, especially when others could read it. Remember though, we are your friends. 🙂

  5. I feel the same way so often. I just recently mentioned that my blog is not very focused because, well, life is not focused. THere are many sides to me. I’m coming along with you and I wish you luck!


Leave a Reply

