A Little Bit of This and That

Just a few random things today:

DivaRomana Shrug - Complete

As promised, this is how the DivaRomana Shrug looks like on me. I’m quite surprised at how comfortable, light and *warm* it is.

(Note: please excuse the hair – it was still wet from the shower.)

~~~

Treetop Kneesocks - Sock #1 (halfway through leg)

Wednesday was spent working on the (very tricky) leg of my Treetop Kneesocks and wondering what the heck my husband was up to and where.

The first chart section on the leg is now done and I hope the next section goes a bit faster. Bamboo DPNs aren’t the fastest needles to work with, but I chose them so I wouldn’t brutalize the recycled wool.

(Long story short: It turns out that BadgerDan was driving all over the Greater Toronto Area trying to find a Passport office that could renew his passport the same day.

Unfortunately, he wasn’t as lucky as the YarnHarlot’s Joe this time round and he had to miss out on a lucrative 10-day assignment to Tennessee.

Suffice it to say that he was none too pleased when he got home last night.

He has since picked up a few jobs in Toronto for the weekend and had a client pay a large outstanding invoice in full so doesn’t feel too bad about it now.

See? Things always have a way of working out. 🙂 )

~~~

Moderne Log Cabin Blanket (Block 3 - 50%)

I’m about halfway through the 3rd Block on my Moderne Log Cabin Blanket.

Believe it or not, I keep this in a basket on top of my TV in the living room and work on it when I’m too tired or stressed out to think. With all the complicated stuff I do, it’s kind of nice to have something mindless to reach for when I need to.

~~~

Thursday was a spinning day:

This is some beautiful custom blended roving from the amazing CJ Kopec called “Sunset” that I picked up a little while ago.

It’s 2/3 Merino, 1/3 Colonial wool and all YUM.

I’m about a third of the way throught the 4oz batch – not bad for a novice spinner, I think.

~~~

The Round 4 specs for Sock Madness 4 were recently released and had me (and most of the other competitors) scrambling through the sock yarn stash in sheer desperation:

US 1/ 2.25mm, US 2/2.75mm – 4 skeins Knit Picks stroll (231 yds/50g)

Do the math – that’s 924yds/200g of sock yarn.

Oh. Em. Gee.

I don’t know about you, but I only get *maybe* 100g of sock yarn at a time. This sucker is also a cabled pattern making me think that I really don’t want to try and stripe them. Buying yarn is out of the question, so what to do????

The only thing I could think of: Raid the Laceweight Stash.

Lisa Souza Laceweight

You may remember this yarn:

Lisa Souza Wild Things

It’s a whopping 2520 yards/226 grams of 2ply extrafine merino (Lisa Souza Laceweight, “Wild Things”) which when I swatched it doubled…

SM4 Round 4 Swatch

… actually gave me gauge and is muted enough to pass as a semi-solid.

Halleluah – crisis averted.

~~~

And last, but not least:

alynxiathelacemonster

Ain’t it the cutest? This little guy is “alynxiathelacemonster” created by the ever-talented Miss Violet who is on a bit of a monster kick at the moment.

Thanks V, I love it lots. 😀

Published in: on April 23, 2010 at 1:17 am  Comments (2)  
Tags: , , , , ,

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://alynxia.wordpress.com/2010/04/23/a-little-bit-of-this-and-that/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

2 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. You are an amazing knitter!

  2. The shawl is gorgeous.


Leave a Reply

