Tunnel Vision

Yet again, I find myself falling behind on my blogging due to a sudden desperate case of “Finishitis”.

UFOs have been dropping like flies off my list to make room for new projects:

Robin's FLS - Complete

The February Lady Sweater for my sister was first off the list.

I opted for a couple of handcarved wooden buttons from Equador that matched better than the plastic ones I had originally picked out and I did end up having to rip back the entire body of my Zen Pullover to do the sleeves, but, no matter…

Zen Pullover (Revised)

I like my newer version much better :D.

Using 8mm needles and increasing at the sides whenever I felt like it resulted in a well fitting comfy sweater that I’ve already been wearing quite a bit.

LOL – I guess they can truly be called “sister sweaters” now.

~~~

There was a bonus square pattern included this month for my Afghan CAL, so I cheated a little and finished off the 2009 Sampler Afghan a bit early:

2009 Sampler Afghan - Complete

These squares were quite fast and fun to do – great for a stash buster all-over motif afghans if you’re looking for a pattern.

November Bonus Square November 2009 Bonus Square
(“Julia’s Flower” by Melinda Miller)

November Square 2009 November Square
(“Gem Star” by Chris Simon)

As for the blanket’s recipient, Danny is thrilled with it – as evidenced by his stretching out on it and napping in front of the TV every night for the past week.

The December CAL square (or squares if there’s another bonus pattern) will become a matching pillow for him – which seems to be needed :).

~~~

Not really a UFO, but a FO nonetheless, last week BadgerDan requested a scarf for a buddy of his who was just getting out of hospital after successful treatment for prostate & colon cancer (menfolk, please get thyselves checked!) and I was more than happy to oblige:

Diagonal Rib Keyhole Scarf

Pattern: Misti Alpaca Chunky Diagonal Rib Knit Scarf by Alicia Fleitas
Yarn: Mystery Chunky Blue Wool from Stash
Needles: 10mm

I cast on 20 sts and made an 8 row keyhole about 12” from one end of the scarf.

~~~

And last but not least, the decision was made to call it quits on the idea of the Forest Witch Mittens due to time constraints. With an additional cable repeat and some clever decreasing, the mitten in progress became a pretty awesome camera cozy:

Forest Witch Camera Cozy - FrontForest Witch Camera Cozy - Back

Those bobbles still crack me up.

~~~

Some other UFOs have been taking a bit longer, but progress is slowly being made:

Regent Hose for Hubby

Regent Hose for Hubby - Sock #1 Complete

LOOK! A COMPLETED INTARSIA SOCK! AMAZING!!!!

(And it only took me how long to knit? *groan*)

This is what the leg looked like before the heel:

Regent Hose for Hubby - leg

The cuff for the 2nd one is finally done and I’m on to the leg of it later today. Alcohol might be involved, just sayin’…

~~~

Wings of Horus is in the final stretch, and like most large shawl projects at this stage, is taking FOREVER to knit (beads not withstanding).

This is how it looked after Clue 5:

Wings of Horus - Clue 5

and here is where it is now (Clue 6, Row 230), only 16 rows from completion:

Wings of Horus, Clue 6, row 230

So close, yet still so far…

~~~

In the next posts – a new pattern for sale(!) and what other things I’ve been getting up to.

Stay tuned ;).

Published in: on November 12, 2009 at 4:31 pm  Comments (1)  
Tags: , , , , , , , , ,

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://alynxia.wordpress.com/2009/11/12/tunnel-vision/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

One CommentLeave a comment

  1. That sock is amazing. Luckily my husband likes plain, muted.


Leave a Reply

