And on the 8th day…

…she blogged.

My personal mission this year will be to knit/crochet only from stash and get it down to the point where I can upload it to Ravelry.

I make the following exceptions for Stash Enhancement:

1. Thriftstore yarn.
2. Discounted oddballs @ 40% off or more.
3. The occasional ball of happy dishcloth cotton.
4. One or two splurges (aka sock yarn) on Worldwide Knit in Public Day.
5. Any yarn won in a contest/draw.

I think this is a feasible, realistic plan that I can follow.

In keeping with this plan, I hit the ground running (or crocheting) this year:

The January Squares for the 2009 Sampler Afghan are the first FO out of the gate:

January Squares

Followed closely by a completed Lopi Vintage Vertical Stripe Afghan! Yep. Done.

VVS Afghan - Complete

What had been taking me *forever* to complete ended up taking 4 days (I had to give my hands a day or two of rest in between sessions) to complete. And holy smokes – what a stashbuster!

The Lopi stash which once looked like this:

Lopi Stash

is (after setting aside what I need for my Hemlock Ring Blanket) now down to just this:

Lopi Stash (Post-VVS)

Not a bad start I think.

Speaking of the Hemlock Ring

I’ve managed to make it to the first Feather & Fan repeat:

Hemlock Ring

My Seaweed Socks are done too!

Seaweed Socks - 1 Seaweed Socks - 2

First Pair of the year. (And super comfy too, I might add.)

I have signed on for the 2009 Monthly Dishcloth KAL Challenge over on Yahoo! rather than doing the Weekly one this year. This means only 2 cloths a month and those are done 10 rows at a time with my morning coffee. Infinitely more manageable and those not to my taste can be given away as gifts.

January Cloth #1 – Ice Skate Dishcloth

Ice Skate Dishcloth

Completely by chance, I stumbled upon Clue one of the Sock Knitters Anonymous Ravelry Group‘s January Sockdown! Challenge. They have the occasional Mystery Sock KAL and this month’s KAL is a beaded lace sock designed by Sheryl Giles (aka Emm1e) who also did the Zombie Socks for last year’s Sock Madness 2.

What can I say? Mystery? Beads? Lace? SOCKS? Potential Prizes? Umm…yeahhhhh…

Beaded Mystery Socks - Clue 1

I’m soooo loving these socks! Already halfway through with Clue 2 (which was released today). Gorgeous.

The socks beckon…must go knit now…

And see if Maverick will let Mommy put the blanket away…

Maverick on VVS

Published in: on January 8, 2009 at 11:05 pm  Comments (1)  
Tags: , , , , , , , , , , ,

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://alynxia.wordpress.com/2009/01/08/and-on-the-8th-day/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

One CommentLeave a comment

  1. […] I mentioned in my first blog post of the year, I have given myself some rules for stash enhancement and that also entails that I share with you […]


Leave a Reply

