Off the hook…

It’s Christmas Eve and what have I been doing? Crocheting my little heart out.

Remember all those 12″ CAL afghan squares I’ve been working on this year? Well, I fell behind a little.

As I figure it, a 2008 Sampler Afghan should be actually finished in 2008 and think that sewing them together on New Years’ Eve is a not too bad way of ending out the year.

So, with December 31st looming large on the horizon, I’ve been working feverishly to get these little darlings done. Here are the ones that fell into the black hole of the blog vacation:

The September CAL Square:

Shells & Waves Square

Pattern: Shells and Waves Afghan Square by Sandi Marshall
Yarn: Mission Falls 1824 Wool, Oyster (003); Raven (005)
Hook: 5mm

The October CAL Square:

Pumpkin Patch Square

Pattern: Pumpkin Patch Square by TKroCrafts
Yarn: Mission Falls 1824 Wool, Squash (533); Raven (005)
Hook: 5mm

(Not my favorite of the bunch – more on this in a bit.)

The November CAL Squares (there were 2 to choose from – I did both):

Supernova Square

Pattern: Supernova by Chris Simon
Yarn: Mission Falls 1824 Wool, Ink (022); Raven (005)
Hook: 5mm

(I LOVE this one.)

Wheel Lattice Square

Pattern: Wheel Lattice by Dayna Audirsch
Yarn: Mission Falls 1824 Wool, Pistachio (028), Raven (005)
Hook: 5mm

I counted this one as my 6th filler square.

The Filler Squares:

Bobby Square

Pattern: Bobby’s Square by Mary Carroll
Yarn: Mission Falls 1824 Wool, Heath (017), Raven (005)
Hook: 5mm

My gauge was larger than the designer’s so I shortened and adjusted the pattern by a round.

Bold Square

Pattern: Bold Squares by Dayna Audirsch
Yarn: Mission Falls 1824 Wool, Teal (030); Raven (005)
Hook: 5mm

Ad Astra Square

Pattern: Ad Astra by Chris Simon
Yarn: Mission Falls 1824 Wool, Damson (024); Raven (005)
Hook: 5mm

(LOVE this one too – pattern *and* colour)

Two Tone Square

Pattern: Two Tone Square by Dayna Audirsch
Yarn: Mission Falls 1824 Wool, Spruce (018); Raven (005)
Hook: 5mm

Initially, I was thinking 24 squares, but after laying out the 21 that I had completed, I changed my mind:

Sampler Afghan - preblocking

4′ x 5′ is plenty big enough and I still have to do a border on it – so I’m calling this baby DONE!

You’ll notice that the October square is separated from the rest of the blanket. It isn’t making the cut – frogging for the yarn.

The leftover colours will be made into socks. Washable wool = socks in this household.

So it looks like all there is left to do on this project is blocking, sewing and a border. Not bad – not bad at all.

Stack o' Squares

Although, I do have this strange craving for pancakes all of a sudden…

As usual, we’ll be on the road for most of Christmas Day as we do brunch with Danny’s Family and then boot over to my folks 1.5hrs away for dinner and an overnight stay.

Wishing you all a Magical (if slightly damp) Christmas…

Snow Tree

Published in: on December 24, 2008 at 10:45 pm  Comments (2)  
Tags: ,

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://alynxia.wordpress.com/2008/12/24/off-the-hook/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

2 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. I can’t wait to see the finished sampler. Gorgeous squares!!! Happy New Year!

  2. I love your site!

    _____________________
    Experiencing a slow PC recently? Fix it now!


Leave a Reply

