A little bit of this and a little bit of that…

Oh, and I forgot to tell you about a hat!

Holiday Halfdome Hat

A Halfdome for my sister’s boyfriend. He’s new to the family and since we want to keep him, I broke out the “good stuff” for his hat. That’s 100% Sublime Cashmere Merino Silk, my friends. If Elizabeth Zimmerman is correct (and she usually is), I should have him wearing Lopi in no time 😉

I was digging around in the leftover stash yesterday (always cheers me up when I’m feeling grumpy) and decided to line up some sock projects to use up some of the accumulated oddballs. I’ve fallen way behind in the 52 Pair Plunge II, where the current count should be at around 30ish and I’m only at around the 15 pair mark.

Matched up 4 pairs worth in fingering weight:

Oddball Socks - 1

and 2 pairs in worsted weight:

Oddball Socks-2

Those are, of course, for *after* I finish knitting the socks that are currently on my needles:

Seaweed Socks Highland Hose

Seaweed Socks
(ArtYarns UltraMerino 4) and Highland Hose (Hayfield Falkland) – yes, I’m knitting kilt hose. For me. It gets cold in this apartment.

And speaking of cold…my Plurk buddy and podcaster Knitting Purls is putting together a blanket for Warm Up America.

I don’t have much of an acrylic stash left, but still managed to find enough to contribute a 7″ x 9″ “square” to the cause:

KP-WUA Square

To keep it interesting I used an easy washcloth pattern (Tiny Cables by Nanette Blanchard) with a cast-on of 36 stitches. (I added a border of 2 ridges of garter stitch on the top & bottom and 3 stitches of garter stitch up the sides).

I think it ended up looking remarkably like a snack cake. Mmmmmm.

Note: For those of us in Canada – we have a similar organization Blankets For Canada. (Thank you Elaine for the link).

All the holiday knitting is done for this year – I finished up BadgerDan’s last gift the other night (whew!). He’s been working furiously in his office on a secret gift project for me – my curiosity is definitely up at this point.

I leave you with a view of our wee tree:

Christmas Corner

and of Tomi’s protestation of Mommy not sharing her blanket:

Tomi's Comfy Cave

TTFN.

Published in: on December 24, 2008 at 12:54 am  Leave a Comment  
Tags: , , , ,

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://alynxia.wordpress.com/2008/12/24/a-little-bit-of-this-and-a-little-bit-of-that/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

Leave a Reply

