Life’s little ups and downs.

Sigh. Let’s just call this a pseudo-weekly blog, shall we?

The lace plan seems to be working, albeit at a very slow pace.

Mystic Waters - Clue 3 Complete

I finally finished Clue 3 on Mystic Waters.

And am halfway through Clue 4 on Casablanca:

Casablanca Shawl - Clue 4, Row 198 Complete

This was the large “2-week” clue, so I feel no remorse in having to take a wee break in the middle.

The Fabel Zen socks are well on their way (these are for BadgerDan, BTW):

Fabel Zen Socks - Sock #1 Leg

Ended up going with a flap heel and 2×2 ribbing for the entire leg. So far so good.

I started another pair of socks that I’m knitting along with Silver Pheonix:

Wyvern Socks - Sock #1 Toe

These are Wyvern Socks by Marnie MacLean that I’m knitting out of Lang Yarns Jawoll Colour (#82-0198). I’m going with the largest size on 2.25mm needles due to gauge.

(David’s rethinking his yarn choice at the moment – so I’ve stopped at 1 repeat after the toe.)

The Tiger Clapotis has gotten a little attention:

Tiger Clapotis - 3 repeats into Section 3

Not much, but it is progress.

In lieu of dishcloths this week, I give you the Crochet Block of the Month for August:

Lacy Sun Square

Pattern: Lacy Sun by Dayna Audirsch
Yarn: Mission Falls 1824 Wool, 014 Dijon, 005 Raven
Hook: 5mm

Wanted to do this square in the solid colour, but ran out of yarn. I goofed and changed colours in the wrong spot – but wasn’t going to pull it back again.

I’ve been annoyed with how the Airy Cabled V-Neck Pullover was turning out – so yesterday, I frogged it and immediately turned it into a crocheted bag:

Crocheted Keyhole Tote Bag

I used the Recycled Beach Bag pattern by Candi Jensen (from Crochet Bags!) with the yarn held doubled throughout. Only thing I did was double the size of the base.

It’s perfect and currently houses the Sensational Cabled Cardigan in progress with room to spare! (Methinks I need a few more of these bags…)

There’s still a bunch of the yarn left over that I might just use up on my Log Cabin Blanket.

Look what arrived at my door last week!

Blooddrop Package

My perfume order from Blooddrop SQUEE! Astrid’s scents are amazing! (She also does stunningly gorgeous custom-made corsets that BadgerDan may just have to buy for me – I adore this one.)

I’ve passed a few of the scents that didn’t work on me along to some very happy friends. These are the ones that I kept and absolutely LOVE!:

Antebellum
Apparition
Frida (I’m wearing this one today 🙂 )
Lady Poppycock’s Peculiar Tincture of Questionable Origins
Mrs. Mary Picklelee’s Uproarious Bottled Bouquet For the Bitter and Bored Widow
Merci #9 (this one makes me smell like sugar cookies 🙂 )

You can find a list of all her scents here. Enter at your own risk.

On a personal note – we lost a very good friend on Sunday.

BadgerDan and George had been friends and colleagues for over 20yrs, including a memorable 2 month contract in Astana, Kazakstan where they endured sub-zero temperatures (it was November/December in fricking SIBERIA!), mystery food (“meat” – no further specifications), and some rather interesting accommodations (they were housed in a former brothel, which the prior tenants had just been ousted). Needless to say – many, many stories abound from this trip.

He was 65 and suffered from a miriad of heart issues to which he finally succumbed.

Goodbye George – we’ll miss you.

Please note: As soon as I upgrade my Flickr account, I’ll be fixing up the side bar. In the meantime, you can visit my Ravelry project page for up to date info. Thanks!

TTFN.

Published in: on August 21, 2008 at 2:38 pm  Comments (4)  
Tags: , , , , , , ,

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://alynxia.wordpress.com/2008/08/21/lifes-little-ups-and-downs/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

4 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. Looks like you’re making some really good progress! Love the bag!

    Sorry to hear about your friend 😦

  2. What you call wyvrn socks looks to me like your knitting a semi translucent string bikini bottom.

  3. That’s a lot of projects….Impressive

  4. stopping by to tell you I nominated your blog 🙂 Come see mine for details! (and thank you again for my wonderful package!)


Leave a Reply

