Due Diligence

As promised – here’s what has been keeping me from y’all for the past two weeks.

Let’s start with some sweaters:

Sensational Cabled Cardigan - Right Front complete

The back and right front pieces are now done on the Sensational Cabled Cardigan. I’m really happy with how it’s turning out.

On a whim, I started another sweater that has been on my list for a while.

Cabled V-Neck Pullover Pattern

Yes, it’s from the 80s but I like it anyway – so there. I’m using recycled yarn from another thriftstore handknit sweater – an acrylic/wool blend (which I don’t use very often), but I loved the colour.

Airy Cabled V-Neck Pullover - Front 80% Complete

Bad photo, but you get the idea.

Socks:

Whitby Socks - Complete Whitby Socks - Done

I finished the Whitby Socks this morning. Sooo cushy – I can’t wait til Fall.

These are my 21st pair of 2008, the 8th pair for the 52 Pair Plunge II and the 5th pair for the Summer of Socks.

I started some plain “Zen” socks in some Garnstudio Fabel yarn, colour 518 from the stash:

Fabel Zen Socks - Sock #1 Toe

72 stitch toe-up on 2mm needles and I’m still not sure what kind of heel I’m going to use.

Shawls:

Last week was spent catching up on some lace knitting…

Goddess Knits Anniversary Shawl - Clue 3 Complete

Clue 3 is now done on my Goddess Knits Anniversary Mystery Shawl.

(It was also featured in WOYNW #40 on Lime & Violet’s Daily Chum blog – thank you Kit!)

And Secret of Bad Nauheim is DONE!!!!!!

Secret of Bad Nauheim Stole - Complete

OMG – did that border take a while to knit, but SOOOOO worth it.

Final measurements came out to 24″ x 82″ (I’m glad I went with the small version!)

As many of you know, Mystery Stole 4 is now in sign up mode – so those of you who missed out last year, what are you waiting for?

Here’s what I’m going to be using for mine:

Mystery Stole 4 Yarn and Beads

It’s a 2-ply heathered olive green lambswool from an old cardigan which I’ll be knitting directly from the sweater pieces (you might recognize this from my Slow Bee II Swatch). Beads are #8 Miyuki (457) Bronze.

It’s going to be GORGEOUS.

Speaking of which – I picked up Susan Pandorf’s (the genius designer behind the Arabian Nights/Moroccan Days Shawl) newest scarf patterns in her Garden Variety Collection:

Hydrangea Scarf

Hydrangea

and

Iris Scarf

Iris

(both available from her website here.)

I can’t wait to see what she comes up with next!

Now – I share with you the fate of my Arabian Nights Shawl. It has been frogged. I will make it at a later date, but right now it is just far too involved for me to work on at the moment. Good news is that the yarn and beads will work PERFECTLY for the Iris scarf.

Now, how about some KAL dishcloths?

The weeklies:

Grid Pattern Dishcloth

Pattern: Grid Pattern Dishcloth by Cheap Knitting Patterns
Yarn: Georga 100% Cotton, Green Multi
Needles: 5mm

I knit this as written, just added a hanging loop.

Lattice Facecloth

Pattern: Lattice Facecloth by Monica Miller
Yarn: Bernat Handicrafter Cotton Stripes, Tie Dye
Needles: 5mm

I made my cloth smaller (only 25 sts) than the original and again, added a crocheted hang tab.

The monthly:

Summer Breeze Cloth

Pattern: Summer Breeze by Sue Schaefer of Harvest Moon Designs
Yarn: Bernat Handicrafter Cotton, Sage Green
Needles: 3.25mm

The mid-month cloth for July. I knit this on smaller needles and added a pattern repeat making it perfectly square. (The patterns are only available to members of the Monthly Dishcloth KAL Yahoo Group, but you can join the group here, if you’re interested.)

I even managed to work on my Log Cabin Blanket (it’s been cool for the last few days).

Log Cabin Blanket - Side Panel 2 Begun

Unfortunately, no yarn pr0n – but I do have pattern pr0n!

Vintage Mary Maxim Sweater Patterns

You should have seen my face when I found a 5″ thick STACK of original 1950s Mary Maxim “Cowichan Style” sweater patterns at the local Value Village. After carefully going through all of them, I whittled myself down to the 11 in the above photo. In a fluke, the cashier sold all of them to me for $2.50. I felt like that chick from that Ikea commercial on my way to the car.

In a fit of pique, I coloured my hair:

My new hair colour Hair Colour - 2

I love it!

(Yes, that’s me. I figured if my “sunstroke” photo is in Vogue Knitting, I should show you what I look like on a really good day. I don’t usually photo that well.)

In other news:

My very talented friend SilverPheonix is having a contest on his new blog – go give him a visit, you could win stuff!

My sidebar is overdue for an facelift – so please bear with me if it looks like a dog’s breakfast for a little while. Codemonkey, I am not.

Whew! Told you it would be a big one. That’ll teach me to be a wee bit more diligent.

TTFN.

Published in: on August 11, 2008 at 10:21 pm  Comments (3)  
Tags: , , , , , ,

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://alynxia.wordpress.com/2008/08/11/due-diligence/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

3 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. I love those colors on Iris!

    You certainly have been a busy knitter. You go girl!

  2. Wow! Your lace knitting is beautiful.

  3. Holy poopsicles, you’ve been busy.

    If you ever get bored of that shawl, my address is….. đŸ˜€


Leave a Reply

