The things you discover when you least expect them…

A funny thing happened when I was at the laundromat the other day. I was perusing the latest issue of Vogue Knitting…

I'm in Vogue Knitting

AND FOUND MYSELF IN IT!!!!!!

(That’s me on the left in the brown shirt near the top of the group photo on page 22)

Suffice it to say, I think they could hear me SQUEE from space – I just about died of shock.

Then, on my way to the local bead store (I needed some for MS4 – more on that later) something told me I had to go to the antique store on the next street over. Lately, I’ve been following my hunches – so I went. I had this weird feeling that they had a spinning wheel in the basement before I even got there. I looked around the main floor where I found some faboo knitting magazines from the 1930s:

Vintage Knitting Magazines

and then went downstairs where this was quite literally waiting for me:

Antique Walking Wheel

A walking or “great” wheel circa 1830-1850.

Weird #1 – I knew it was there.
Weird #2 – It’s from the Lindsay, Ontario area where my maternal Grandfather was born, grew up and died.
Weird #3 – I’ve always had a feeling that I should be spinning with a walking wheel due to the way my hands naturally want to draw (left-handed, single-hand draw) which in itself is odd as I’m right-handed.
Weird #4 – It was on sale for 30% off and I COULD AFFORD IT!!!!

I went home (after the bead store) in a bit of a daze and relayed the story to my friends over on Plurk – most of whom said “um, you are buying it – right???” My main concern was how to break it to BadgerDan – because, frankly, this baby is HUGE and we’re moving soon. It took me a few days to work up the guts to run it by him and he surprised the heck out of me by being quite supportive – far be it for him to argue with the Universe.

Today, my loving husband brought this home for me (in the pouring rain):

The Walking Wheel Come Home

Told ya she was big. And other than a repairable crack and needing new string – perfectly functional.

OMG.

(I’ll do a big project update for you guys tomorrow – I promise. TTFN)

Published in: on August 10, 2008 at 2:07 am  Comments (2)  
Tags: ,

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://alynxia.wordpress.com/2008/08/10/the-things-you-discover-when-you-least-expect-them/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

2 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. wow. congrats on the great find.

  2. OMG! Congrats!


Leave a Reply

