The Knitting Never Stops

Wow, where did May go? This month just flew by…

Thank you Anita and Rhonda (and all others) for your comments (and compliments – blush)! It’s really great to know that I’m not just talking to myself here :1).

Rhonda, I totally agree that my Mystery Lace photo looks like a “nether region cover”. In fact, on the group’s message board, one lady was scanning the finished Clue 1 pictures and her daughter walked by and asked her why she was looking at g-strings on the internet! Too funny. As to knitted lace g-strings, I do have a pattern for one from one of last year’s Interweave Knits issues. BadgerDan thanks you for your suggestion and consideration, but thinks that although very pretty, it isn’t really worth my effort to knit as it would probably get damaged beyond repair and spend most of it’s time on the floor (wink).

As for sleep – let’s just say that I’m a bit of a night owl and leave it at that. :1)

I promised you some finished objects this post, so with no further ado…

Mystic Light Shawl - complete

Mystic Light is DONE! (Bet you didn’t expect that, did you?)

Pattern: Mystic Light by Anna Dalvi
Yarn: Austermann Step, Colour 01
Needles: 3.75mm Addi Turbos/4mm Addi Turbos (Clue 3 onward)
Beads: #6 Miyuki Glass Beads, 6-142S (Silver-lined Berry colour) 2 vials [applied with 1mm crochet hook]

Baby Surprise Jacket - complete

My first BSJ too!!!

Pattern: Baby Surprise Jacket by Elizabeth Zimmermann (1968 Original Pattern as reprinted in The Opinionated Knitter)
Needles: 3.5mm Brittany Straights
Yarn: Sirdar Baby Bamboo (Taupe, Olive, Cream)
Buttons: Glazed Terra-Cotta from Sweaterkits

I have to re-knit the collar as the i-cord is way too tight (my bad). I’m just going to pick up and do a few rows of garter stitch instead to match the button band.

Note: The original recipient of the jacket will have outgrown it by the time it would get to him. So this one is going into the “hope chest” and he’ll be receiving a nice crocheted hemp sunhat instead. What do I know about growing babies? Apparently not sizing.

Sunny Scalloped Dishcloth

Sunny Scalloped Dishcloth

Pattern: Scallop Pattern Dishcloth #009 by Love 2 Knit Dishcloths
Needles: 3.25mm
Yarn: Bernat Handicrafter Cotton, Creamsicle/Hot Orange

This is the Weekly Cloth from last week. Had a little fun framing out the centre pattern with the solid using intarsia. Just a little note – the pattern doesn’t include the border stitches, so remember to add them.

Naturally Purled Eyelets Cloth

Naturally Purled Eyelets Dishcloth

Pattern: 2008 May Mid-Month Dishcloth (Monthly Dishcloth KAL) by Sue Schaefer for Harvest Moon Designs
Needles: 3.25mm
Yarn: Bernat Handicrafter Cotton, Natural Ombre

I made this cloth quite a bit smaller (by 12 sts in fact) than the original and using smaller needles. My finished cloth is about 6″ square. No pattern link for this one unfortunately.

Simple S'mores Sock #1 Simple S'mores Socks - Sock 1 Done

Finished the first Simple S’mores Sock yesterday. I used a caramel-coloured stash 3-ply for the heel and 3″ 2×2 cuff (doubled for heel, single for cuff). Stopped at 6″ for the leg as I thought that was plenty (plus I was really bored with the stockingette). Fits very well, but the heel IS a little squared off.

Secret of Bad Nauheim - Clue 5

This green alpaca blob is what a 6′ long stole looks like with 852 border stitches picked up around it on a 32″ circular needle. Secret of Bad Nauheim Stole is well on its way to completion with only 38 border rows to go. I may just make my self-imposed June deadline!

I received my Irish yarn swap package from CelticMemory the other day – Squee!!!

Stash Swap Swag

From the top:

50/50 Silk/Cashmere, Natural Heathered Tweed (280m) [I totally have to make a summer top with this]
90/10 Merino/Nylon “Mousse” laceweight , in Teal and Olive (200m each) [I would call this a baby boucle]

And OMG!

Celtic Memory Merino Tencel

A skein of her OWN HANDDYED MERINO TENCEL!!!! She calls this colourway “Deep Sea” and it is sooooo pretty! This is actually my first merino/tencel sock yarn. Way too nice for socks though – destined for a lace scarf, maybe some beads…

Thank you so very much Jo. Now we need the Irish postal system to hurry it up so everyone can see what I’ve sent YOU!

A little more stash enhancement has been going on:

Araucania Ranco Multi

Araucania Ranco Multi Sock Yarn – “Peacock” and “Kaleidoscope”

As you can plainly see, I have been spending so much time at the shop lately that the yarn fumes have been getting to me again. (You do NOT want to see how much I have put aside in the back…my poor paycheque!)

The local Value Village had a half-price sale on Monday, so naturally I had to check it out. No Lopi for my blanket, but I did find this:

The Knitting Machine

The Knitting Machine from Mattel Canada (circa 1970s) for the whopping price of $2.50.

How could I resist that?

It’s a plastic circular knitting machine complete with instruction manual. Unfortunately too small for doing socks (only 32 pins), the patterns are mostly for little puffs that you sew together to make things. Typically tacky. I don’t DO puffs. I’m going to experiment a little and maybe see what comes of it – thinking wine bags might work.

On a different note, ya’ll might remember that Worldwide Knit in Public Day is coming up on June 14th. Also, quite coincidently it falls on our beloved Yarn Harlot‘s birthday this year – her 40th (by her own admission). Let’s make it one for her to remember and really help out those in need around the world by making a donation to Knitters without Borders. Every little bit helps, especially with current world events being what they are.

For the locals, she and Rachel H. have cooked up a big event at Lettuce Knit and are flying Franklin Habit up from Chicago to take shots for his 1000 Knitters Project. (PS – check out his forthcoming first book.)

Guys, if you haven’t figured it out yet, I’m a little camera shy. I just have those reflective eyes that look possessed in every dang picture and it bugs me to no end, not to mention my hair has a mind of it’s own.

However, for my beloved Franklin I will make the exception. Yep – I am going to be one of the 1000 Knitters!!!!! So if you want to see my mug, it’ll be there for all posterity. :1)

I’m totally chuffed (and BadgerDan is so proud, he’s telling everyone I’m going to take part in an international art project).

For now, though, I have to get back to the border on the blob.

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://alynxia.wordpress.com/2008/05/30/the-knitting-never-stops/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

2 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. You were looking for Lopi? …This is where I suddenly regret not purchasing the grab bag of different coloured Lopi yarn last time I went to Value Village. I wanted them, but couldn’t think of anything to really make out of them so just put back the bag. I wish now I’d bought them; you could have them just to help me destash from a recent stash enhancement.

  2. 32 stitches? Baby mittens! Baby socks! draft stopper covers, stuffed animal bodies, coils to sew together for hats, strips to sew for scarves, seat covers, pillow covers, blankets. Coke bottle cozies, felted iphone cozies. Have fun!


Leave a Reply

