Movers, Spinners, Sparklies and Swag

Okay guys, here’s the scoop: we’re moving to BC!!!!! BadgerDan has scored himself a position with a company just outside of Vancouver and needless to say were totally excited!

I’ve been packing like a fiend in anticipation, even though we don’t have a date yet – it’ll be within the next couple of months. Hence, the lack of blogging, for which I apologize.

On the project front:

Cosmic Ripples Socks - Complete Cosmic Ripples Socks - Sock #2

The Cosmic Ripples socks are done and are incredibly cute with the beads. The second sock came out much better than the first one, even if it took a little longer to do.

I finished the first sock of the Sock Madness Round 6 pattern:

Pele's Party Socks - Sock 1 Complete Pele's Party Socks - Cuff Detail

“Pele’s Party Socks”
Pattern: Godmother’s Socks By Deborah Swift of MountainMom Designs
Yarn: Koigu KPM Handdyed Semi-Solids, Colour 1110 (50g skein – 160m); Fleece Artist Basic Merino Sock, Origin Colourway (32g)
Needles: 2.25mm KnitPicks Circs, 2.75mm DPNs for cuff

I beaded the cuff on this pair as well, using #6 glass beads in various coordinating colours and a 1mm crochet hook. I’m just beading everything these days…

The true colours just aren’t coming through in the picture – much richer lava reds on the foot and royal purple in the cuff. I was going for an erupting volcano look. Took a little more of the cuff yarn than expected and I’ll have to cheat a little on the leg of sock #2. Not a big deal – it’s a foldover cuff and won’t show too much.

I’m holding off on knitting socks until next month with the start up of the 52 Pair Plunge II (June 1st) and the Summer of Socks 2008 (June 30th).

I’ve signed up for both and a couple of new sock KAL groups (Six Sox KAL, Townsend Socks KAL) in preparation, not that I’ll be running out of patterns any time soon.

In the meantime, I’m trying to finish off a couple of neglected lace projects before the new wave of Mystery Shawl KAL clues come my way. After a bit of thought, I decided it would be sheer lunacy on my part to start my Secret of Bad Nauheim stole over again since I was so far into it. It has 1.25 pattern repeats done now, with another 1.75 to go before picking up for the edging. Hoping to have it finished before next week so that I can tackle the rest of the Mystic Light shawl.

Secret of Bad Nauheim Stole

Here’s last week’s dishcloth:

Diagonal Ripple Dishcloth

Pattern: Diagonal Ripple Dishcloth by Leanne Cooper
Needles: 4mm
Yarn: Bernat Handicrafter Cotton Prints, Summer Print

Yet again, another one I should have made in a solid colour. When will I learn?

I may skip most of the 1st pattern releases of the month for the Monthly Dishcloth KAL because I’m just not too much into the pictoral dishcloth thing. The 2nd patterns are a textural pattern which are more to my personal taste. There are always exceptions though :1)

And look what I finally brought home:

My Wee Spinning Wheel

YEEE!!! My first wheel!!!! We’re pretty sure it’s a circa 1970s Kromski – ain’t it cute?

And remember I mentioned an additional item that I picked up on my trip to Gemini Fibres? Well here it is:

Forrester Orifice Hook

A handmade orifice hook by Thomas C. Forrester (in Imbuya wood)! It was the only thing I was missing for the wheel (which even came with 4 extra bobbins!) and matches it almost exactly. This I could afford to splurge on. :1)

Oh, and the worsted weight undyed silk? My friend Ruth pounced on it for her weaving and traded me a brand new Schacht Hi-Lo drop spindle which can be used either as a top whorl or bottom whorl. I love versatility and since I’m a bit of a beginner this will be ideal. (Psst!!! She also has Ladybug Wheels – pass it on!!)

A little bit of stash enhancement has been going on:

Swag from The Loopy Ewe

I was a very bad girl over on The Loopy Ewe‘s website – I blame Sheri and all of her virtual sock yarn fumes.

They are –
Top: Schafer Anne – Morrison (OMG!!! I can’t stop petting this one)
L-R: Duet Skinny Sock Yarn – Afton Manor; Zen String Lotus Toes (Sport) – Mount Monadnock; Lorna’s Laces Shepherd Sock – Edgewater; Louet Gems – Fern Green

Yep – sock yarn fumes, definitely.

I have a new friend Celtic Memory over in County Cork, Ireland who’s traded me this gorgeous aubergine fingering weight alpaca for some Addi Turbos and Blue Sky Patterns that are tough to get over there.

Aubergine Fingering Wt Alpaca

She had a whole CONE of it – can you imagine? This is what I’m going to use for my forthcoming Mystic Meadows shawl – it’s going to be fabulous!

I’ve also sent her out a Canadian care package which I’ll share with you once I know she’s received it – I want it to be a little bit of a surprise.

[She just got back from her vacation to Crete with some great photos (go take a gander at the local shepherd). Just don’t cross her dog Muffy the Yarnslayer – adorable, but what she does to cashmere will make you weep.]

Last, but not least, look what I picked up today at the local antique market:

Antique Needlework Magazines

These are antique “Needlecraft” magazines/newsletters (they’re each the size of a newspaper) from 1917-1919. A lot of really nice patterns for crocheted and knitted lace. A steal at $5 a piece on sale. They have come to a very appreciative home.

Okay, I think I’ve got ya’ll up to date now. With any luck, I’ll have a few more completed items to show you pretty soon.

TTFN.

Published in: on May 15, 2008 at 3:18 pm  Comments (1)  
Tags: , , , , , , , , , ,

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://alynxia.wordpress.com/2008/05/15/movers-spinners-sparkles-and-swag/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

One CommentLeave a comment

  1. Alynxia, THRILLED at your move to BC! One of my favourite parts of the world and the view you get as you fly in over Vancouver at evening is one of the best there is. You’ll be well placed for wandering out to islands and maybe taking a trip into the Yukon.

    Love what you did with the Godmother socks – the cuff looks spectacular with that beading.


Leave a Reply

