Fighting with Footwear

Hi guys! Gosh, where has the time gone? Okay, let me get you up to speed.

Sock Madness Round 5 kicked my butt. As expected, my division (Tennessee Twisted Knitters) filled up first and when I saw that there was only 1 spot left and I had the better part of a whole sock left to do, I called it and went to bed (this was at around 4am on Monday, April 28th, less than 24 hrs into the round). I am very proud to say that I made it to the final 24. (BadgerDan told me that I was still #1 in his eyes and when I woke up later, he had left me some yarn money on the coffee table – hands off, ladies, he’s mine and I’m keeping him!)

I put them down for a bit, but I should finish them in the next day or so:

Cosmic Ripples Socks - 55% Cosmic Ripples Sock - Close up

“Cosmic Ripples” Socks
Pattern: Hippy Ripply Retro Socks by Helen Darmara
Needles: 2.25mm KnitPicks Classic Circular 32″ (Magic loop)
Yarn: Fleece Artist Merino Sock, Cosmic Dawn

Goofed up a bit on the heel (japanese short-row) and since I was out of the main competition anyway, decided to re-do the cuff – this time with beads!

Cosmic Ripples Sock - Beaded Cuff (down) Cosmic Ripples Sock - Beaded Cuff (up)

With the competition and pulling a lot more than my usual hours at the shop, needless to say I’ve been a bit on the tuckered out side. Tuesday, it was all I could do to work on my Simple S’mores Socks:

Simple S'mores Socks - 25%

I had planned on doing a “forethought” heel, then went ahead with an “peasant/afterthought” heel. I pulled it out WAY too early, so finally put the stitches on waste yarn until I get further into the leg.

The dishcloth assignment for last week kind of threw me for a loop:

Argosy Dishtowel

Pattern: Argosy Dishcloth by Vyvyan Neel
Needles: 4mm
Yarn: Bernat Handicrafter Cotton, Summer Twist

It’s huge! 14″ x 11″! Dude, that’s not a dishcloth – that’s a towel! I will give allowances, because it is based on a scarf pattern. Fair warning – only 13″ of yarn left when I finished. I’m going to add a crocheted tab and button to make it a hanging towel.

Wednesday, in a fit of pique, I decided to remove the amber beads from my Mystic Light Shawl as they were imperceptible on the yarn. In the process, a glass shard accidentally cut the yarn, forcing another re-knit. I took this as an opportunity to change out the beads to a silver lined lavender and to bead every SK2PO and it’s looking great! Haven’t gotten too far back in, but as I have all the clues now, the shawl should move pretty fast.

Mystic Light Shawl - Take 3

After seeing some of the other Secret of Bad Nauheim shawls on Ravelry, I’m going to re-start that one too and make it to Moni’s original specs.

Hopefully, I can get these two and Mystic Waters done before the summer lace KALs really ramp up in June.

THE CARNIVALE DU PRINTEMPS SOCKS ARE FINALLY DONE!!!!!!

Carnivale Du Printemps Socks - Complete Carnivale Du Printemps Socks - Complete (Side view)

Pattern: Gentleman’s Sock with Lozenge Pattern from “Knitting Vintage Socks” by Nancy Bush
(highly modified by me)
Needles: 2mm DPNs
Yarn: Lorna’s Laces Shepherd Sock – Watercolours, some stash sock yarn in Heathered Purple colour

Carnivale du Printemps Socks - top detail

After 2 whole months of frogging and do-overs, I can’t tell you how happy I am that these are off of my needles and onto my feet!

Sock Madness released the Optional Round on Thursday. This one we are allowed to play with a little, just as long as there is at least one pattern repeat on the leg. Cool. We all know how I cannot leave well enough alone. I began it as a toe-up Cat Bordhi version in JaWoll, but ripped it back as I (yet again) somehow messed up the heel. Went stash diving and will begin again, this time as a top-down and will do a neat technique on the instep. I want to finish my Cosmic Ripples first.

After this pair, it’s Round 6 being released on Friday. These are the lace cuff pair that I’ve been looking forward to for a while. I’m breaking my own rule of green for this round and am going purple with some leftover Fleece Artist Merino Sock in “Origin” (from my Lughnasadh shawl) and the contrast wool from the Carnivale socks, this time doubled for strength.

I have a few other wonderful things to share, but I’ll wait until my next post as this one is getting a little long and I have (an incredibly huge amount of) knitting to catch up on.

TTFN.

Published in: on May 6, 2008 at 12:42 pm  Leave a Comment  
Tags: , , , , , ,

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://alynxia.wordpress.com/2008/05/06/fighting-with-footwear/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

Leave a Reply

