Socks, Swaps and Sleeves

Socks seem to magically appear around here lately:

Santa Fe Socks - Complete Santa Fe Socks - Sock 1 Complete

Needles: 3mm DPNs
Yarn: Georga 100% Mercerized Wool (Rust & Stone Chino), Sublime Extra Fine Merino DK (Shade 0064 – Teal)

These ones are the Santa Fe socks from Knitting on the Road by Nancy Bush and are the March/April socks for the KOTR Sock KAL. BadgerDan has declared that he wants to chuck out all his storebought socks for handmade like mine, so these ones are for him. He’s been quite supportive of me throughout Sock Madness, so he totally deserves them. I kept with Nancy’s original colours, with the exception of the stone colour (which she had as a gold). For gauge, I went with smaller needles and thicker yarn (he needs them durable – pretty much lives in work boots). Thrilled with them and I really quite like the cushy heel pattern.

The dishcloth of the week (c’mon, you know you love them):

Three & One Checked Cloth

Pattern: Three and One Checked Cloth by Linda Smith
Needles: 4mm
Yarn: Bernat Handicrafter Cotton, Hot Blue & Summer Print

Really neat honeycomb sort of stitch pattern which I swear is a slightly modified version of the one Ann Shayne used for her Big Dotty (piano bench) Cushion in Mason Dixon Knitting. Next time, I’ll put a side border on the cloth as it has a tendency to curl and the pattern will look better framed, I think.

And look what came in the mail!

Swap Silk and Soap

That’s 2 large (1/2 lb!) skeins of natural, undyed worsted weight 100% silk and a bar of handmade soap (Wild Child – Citrus Spash) sent from sl1k1psso as a stash swap. Oh, the possiblities for this yarn!

As I’ve already shown her a sneak peek, I can share with you what I’m sending out to her next week:

Swap Package

She’s a spinner, dyer, sock knitter and beader so I put together a little handdyed special for her:

1 braid Fleece Artist Merino Handdyed Sliver Roving (Angel Fish or Pinata, I’m not sure which)
1 skein Lorna’s Laces Shepherd Sock, Vera (Yes, this is the one I showed you before)
1 skein Claudia’s Handpainted Sock, Chocolate Cherry
1 container Blue Moon Beads, #6 Gold-lined Green

Hope she will “squee” as loud as I did!

Sock Madness Round 5 starts tomorrow morning and I’m still trying to find someone to cover my shift at the store. Wendy is at the Knitter’s Frolic in Toronto all weekend so I’m manning the shop for her today.

We’ll see what happens. As it stands, this is the yarn I’ll be using for this round:

Fleece Artist Merino Sock, Cosmic Dawn

Fleece Artist Merino Sock in the Cosmic Dawn Colourway. This is the one I used to make my keychain sock last year:

Keychain Sock

I’m a little nervous this round (only 3 spots per Division!) and it’s the one using the Japanese Short-Row heel. I’ll have to teach myself that little technique this afternoon.

Gonna see if I can finish the sleeves on my Fleece Artist Garter Stitch Jacket today (but I’m going to bring my BSJ project with me as well, I mean, you never know…)

Later….

Published in: on April 26, 2008 at 9:11 am  Leave a Comment  
Tags: , , , , , ,

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://alynxia.wordpress.com/2008/04/26/socks-swaps-and-sleeves/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

Leave a Reply

