KALapolooza

With Sock Madness Round 4 being released tomorrow, I thought I’d get you guys caught up before I go back into the cone of silence.

I’m finally finished catching up on my Weekly Dishcloth KAL:

Pinwheel Dishcloth

Pattern: Pinwheel Dishcloth by Abigail – 1870 Pearl
Yarn: Bernat Handicrafter Cotton – Neptune, SR Kertzer Coolspun Cotton – White
Needles: 3.25mm

I learned how to graft in garter stitch. Yee! Great for using up scraps this one.

Annie Dishcloth

Pattern: Annie Washcloth by Mary J. Saunders
Needles: 3.5mm DPNs
Yarn: Bernat Handicrafter Cotton Stripes – Natural Stripes

This was one of those times I really wish I had used a different yarn. Unfortunate. I’ll let you come to your own conclusions as to what it looks like. I think I might try this pattern again but using reds and blacks – “spiralling vortex of death”.

Garterlac Dishcloth

Pattern: Garterlac Dishcloth by Dave at Criminy Jickets
Needles: 4mm
Yarn: Bernat Handicrafter Cotton, Sunkissed Ombre

My first foray into entrelac – one whole heck of a lot easier than it looks. Try this one, you’ll feel like a genius. Make a scarf out of it and you’ll look like one too!

Okay – only one a week from now on for this KAL.

Finished also is the mid-month cloth for the Monthly Dishcloth KAL:

Monthly Dishcloth KAL - Mid-Month April 2008

Pattern: Dots within Stripes Cloth by Vicky at Mama Bear’s Craft Pages
Needles: 4mm
Yarn: Bernat Handicrafter Cotton, Country Stripes & SR Kertzer Coolspun Cotton, White

Technically there is still at least one more “day” release to this KAL. But, as I will be extremely busy frantically knitting socks tomorrow, I inferred the remaining part of the pattern from previous releases so I could get it done and out of my mind.

As for the Carnivale du Printemps socks:

Carnivale du Printemps Socks - 75%

The leg is done on sock #2. I’m going to have to pull back the toe and a bit of the foot on sock #1 because the scale lied a bit when I was separating out the skein of Lorna’s Laces. Silly me – I used the larger of the two on sock #1. Whoops.

Looks like I have a bit of time to finish this one (which I’m making as part of the Vintage Socks KAL) as the pattern is back on the poll list for May/June (and leading), even though it was an alternate for March/April. I guess most people did the other sock pattern.

I snapped a new progress photo of my Simple S’mores Socks (aka travel sock):

Simple S'mores Socks - progress

As you can see, I haven’t gotten that far as I’ve been taking other socks with me on my travels.

All set for tomorrow – here’s the yarn I’m using (which I’ll be overdying with lime Kool-Aid):

Sandnes Garn - lanett

It’s a fingering weight 100% merino in butter yellow and quite soft. I had to purchase yarn (twist my rubber arm) for this pair because I didn’t have anything suitable in the stash. Light colours just don’t seem to make it into my shopping bag it seems.

And just to prove I’ve totally taken leave of my senses, I signed up for 3 new lace shawl mystery KALs this morning. Casablanca KAL (I have a thing for Humphrey Bogart), Slow Bee 2 (I’ve signed up for SB1 as well) and Mystery Lace (which closes for sign-ups tonight at Midnight), and for which I’ve even completed Clue 1!

Mystery Lace Stole - Clue 1 Complete

What can I say? It was quiet at the shop today.

It’s a knitted lace (patterned every row) stole which I’m doing in Misti Alpaca Lace (cream) on 3.5mm Addi Turbos with light grassy green iridescent beads. Very pretty so far.

Okay, signing off for a while – the natives are restless and hungry. Back when I have a pair of yellow socks to show you.

Published in: on April 20, 2008 at 7:24 pm  Leave a Comment  
Tags: , , , ,

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://alynxia.wordpress.com/2008/04/20/kalapolooza/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

Leave a Reply

