A minor change of plans

There is an old Yiddish proverb that says “if you want to make God laugh, tell him your plans”.

So far, so good – I’m on schedule:

Mystic Light Shawl - Clue 2 Complete

Tuesday – Clue 2 done on my Mystic Light Shawl.

Secret of Bad Nauheim Stole - Clue 2 Complete Secret of Bad Nauheim Stole - Clue 3 complete

Wednesday – Clues 2 & 3 done on my Secret of Bad Nauheim Stole.

Here’s where the change of plans comes in…

Round 3 of Sock Madness is being released between 8pm-midnight TONIGHT!
And this one is made with – wait for it – laceweight yarn! (Albeit held doubled throughout.)

Here’s the teaser:

SM2 Teaser - Laceweight Sock

Thankfully, I had my yarn pre-chosen for this one:

Laceweight Yarn, SM2 - Round 3

Black – Ornaghi Filati Merino Oro 021 (100% Superwash Merino)
Moss Green Heather – Misti Alpaca 2-ply Laceweight 0743 (100% Baby Alpaca)
Tangerine Heather – Misti Alpaca 2-ply Laceweight (#?)

As soon as they posted the specs, I started madly swatching as I KNEW that the needles they recommended would not give me gauge.

(35 stitches/53 rounds over 4 inches in (s1, k3) slip-stitch pattern worked in the round on 2.75mm – I don’t think so!)

After 3 needle changes, I’m settling on 2.25mm and they will probably still be a little loose for my taste. Methinks I’ll keep out the 2mms just in case.

As for timing, I’ve already booked off Friday/Saturday and am planning an all-nighter tonight as there are only 12 spots in each division this round and I plan on being one of them. There are times when I’m happy that I’m a night-owl.

Gonna keep it light today, maybe do my April CAL Afghan Square, a few more rows on the Baby Surprise Jacket and bake some (gluten-free) bread for BadgerDan’s lunches. We’ll see how it goes.

I just hope the Gods aren’t laughing at me…

Published in: on April 10, 2008 at 2:15 am  Leave a Comment  
Tags: , , , ,

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://alynxia.wordpress.com/2008/04/10/a-minor-change-of-plans/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

Leave a Reply

