How to manage WIPs with minimal braindamage.

Better late, than never I suppose… Hmmm, what haven’t I told you about yet?

Before my life was interrupted by Sock Madness, I was finally able to finish the first Carnivale du Printemps sock:

Carnivale du Printemps - Sock 1 Complete

Instead of carrying the leg pattern onto the foot,

Carnivale du Printemps Socks - Leg detail

I did something a little more feminine and interesting. I decreased the diamond pattern to a point and then did three increasingly smaller diamonds on the instep. I assure you, it looks more impressive in real life.

Carnivale du Printemps Socks - Instep detail

I also found some more Lopi for my Vintage Vertical Stripe Afghan:

Basket of Lopi Yarn

And added 3 more stripes to it, bringing the current total up to 48. Only 106 more rows to go…

Vintage Vertical Stripe Afghan - 48 Rows

Remember this teaser?

BSJ - Musa

Well, as most of you probably guessed it was a Baby Surprise Jacket by Elizabeth Zimmerman. Why I say “was” is because the yarn I was using (Fiamattino Musa) was giving me problems, so I frogged it and started again in a different yarn:

Baby Surprise Jacket - Baby Bamboo

This one is done on 3.5mm 14″ Brittany Straights in Sirdar Baby Bamboo (taupe, olive green and cream) and is SO much better. I’m making this BSJ (my first!) for some aquaintances of ours who just had a baby boy. William was supposed to arrive on April 1st and surprised everybody by coming out kicking and screaming almost 2 months early on February 7th (yay, another Aquarian in the world!)

I might just make myself a full size one like this – I adore this yarn, it’s quite yummy.

In another frogging episode, I ripped out my Mystic Light shawl because the red yarn dye in the Araucania Nature Wool was giving me the itchies. (I actually rashed out when I used the red Tilli Tomas Disco Lights). I exchanged the yarn for some in a really nice kelly green which I’ll use for a sweater later.

So, I began again, this time back with the original yarn I chose for the project – Austermann Step (01) on 3.75mm Addi Turbos. I am very happy with how it’s coming out. Finished Clue #1 last night and am going to work on Clue #2 tomorrow, bringing me back up to date with the KAL.

Mystic Light Shawl - Clue 1 Complete

You can’t really see them in the picture, but I’m putting beads in the centres of the “stars” for a little flair (plus, I had the beads.)

Today, I decided to crochet another block for my sampler afghan:

Birthday Flower Square

Pattern: Birthday Flower by Chris Simon
Hook: 5mm
Yarn: Mission Falls 1824 Wool (010 – Russet, 005 – Raven)

This is filler square #4. I chose red because my birthday flower is the carnation. :1)

Did I hear someone say “dishcloths”? We got that!

Ivy's Cloth

Pattern: Ivy’s Cloth by Annette Derksen
Needles: 5mm
Yarn: Bernat Handicrafter Cotton (Key Lime)

I only did 2 patterns wide by 5 repeats tall. 6″ is plenty big enough I think for a dishcloth. Would probably look better in a solid colour, though.

Springing Up Flowers Dishcloth

Pattern: Springing up Flowers by Kristen Patay
Yarn: Bernat Handicrafter Cotton in Hot Green and Summer Sky; Araucania Patagonia Nature Cotton
Needles: 3.25mm Straights

I hate it when I run out of yarn mid-project, (especially twice) but it’s only a dishcloth. I gave it and Ivy’s Cloth to my friend Pam who loves them.

Squidge Cloth

Pattern: Squidge by Knit Nutt (Sasha)
Yarn: Bernat Handicrafter Cotton (Creamsicle)
Needles: 3.75mm

I really, really, really like this cloth. Super simple – and so smooshy!! This is now my default dishcloth pattern – hands down. I down-sized the pattern to a comfortable 32 sts (7″). Did I say I like this pattern? I meant love. Try it, you’ll see what I mean.

Chinese Waves Dishcloth

Pattern: Chinese Waves by Margaret K. Radcliffe
Yarn: Bernat Handicrafter Cotton Stripes (Country Stripes)
Needles: 5mm

This one was pretty fun. A new twist on garter stitch. I plan on making some tea-towels with this stitch pattern – also maybe a bathmat.

And last, but not least, my first “mystery” dishcloth as part of the Monthly Dishcloth KAL group:

Meadow Cloth

Pattern: The Meadow from Patterns by Lindy
Yarn: Bernat Handicrafter Cotton (Hemp)
Needles: 4.5 mm

They e-mail you 8 rows or so of the pattern every day for a week, twice a month. Not a bad idea for coffee break knitting at work. I may just gather a bunch of these together for a blanket.

I’m going to try and catch up on a few more things before SM Round 3. As I see it, knitting/crochet-wise this is how the rest of my week is shaping up:

Tuesday – Mystic Light Shawl, Clue 2
Wednesday – Secret of Bad Nauheim Shawl, Clues 2 & 3; Carnivale du Printemps Sock #2 (Sn’B Night)
Thursday – Fleece Artist Garter Stitch Jacket, Sleeves; Baby Surprise Jacket
Friday – April Square for 12″ Afghan Square CAL; last 3 dishcloths for Weekly Dishcloth KAL (caught up – yay!)
Saturday – Mystic Light Shawl, Clue 3
Sunday – Secret of Bad Nauheim Shawl, Clue 4

Then Sock Madness ramps up again next week.

Ambitious? Maybe a little.

Okay, a lot.

If I can actually pull this off, I will be one tired, and pretty pleased, puppy.

I suppose BadgerDan might possibly want to eat and wear clean clothes this week, so I guess (ahem) some stuff may not get done as scheduled.

Pesky husbandses ;1)

Published in: on April 7, 2008 at 9:57 pm  Leave a Comment  
Tags: , , , , , , , , ,

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://alynxia.wordpress.com/2008/04/07/how-to-manage-wips-with-minimal-braindamage/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

Leave a Reply

