Have sock, will travel

Boy, that Sock Madness takes alot out of you!! I finished the latest round on Thursday and I’m just beginning to feel like myself again. But I’m getting ahead of myself…

The Round 2 pattern (Reversai) was released on Monday morning (very funny guys, ha ha) and even with working and laundry, I was thankfully able to finish the leg and heel of the first sock.

And look what I found at the local Value Village:

French Laceweight

Two skeins of 2-ply laceweight wool from France for $1! I know they’re pink – for a buck, I’ll dye them.

The TTC decided to play nice and did NOT go on strike Tuesday (lucky for them, we have pointy sticks), so we knitters had a fun time “behaving inexplicably” on April Fools Day. Here’s the link to the Flickr group with all of our photos from the sock photo scavenger hunt – including mine.

I ended up getting about 24 or so points in the scavenger hunt – the grand prize winner got 72! No worries, I had a great time stash enhancing:

FibraNatura Oak

From In the Loop Cafe, some new yarn I’d never seen before “FibraNatura Oak” which is a light worsted weight blend of superwash merino, linen and silk. Really nice, I look forward to seeing what I can do with it. Had a cuppa and great conversation with their staff – lovely shop.

Next stop was Knit-o-Matic where I scored this on sale:

Hemp for Knitting Fingering Weight

5 hanks of Lanaknits Hemp for Knitting Fingering Weight in “Chocolate”. Yum! I see a great summer top in my future.

I then headed down to Kensington Market to pay Megan at Lettuce Knit a visit, as by this time I was desperately in need of a GoKnit pouch. Ziplocs will only get you so far – I got a dark blue small one for my on-the-go sock projects.

And…

Socks That Rock Lightweight - Wonderful Goodness

Squee!!!!! This Socks That Rock colourway is called “Wonderful Goodness” and I can’t think of a better descriptor. As per Megan, she is the only retailer that Blue Moon has sent this colourway out to. Wahoo!

I’m still lusting after all that Alchemy Haiku she has there – (drool) forget CrackSilk Haze – this stuff has my heart.

Gathering my senses again, Romni Wools was next on the agenda and their basement did not disappoint:

Regia and Jo Sharp Bargains

Although “sans label”, easily identifiable as Kaffe Fassett Mirage from Regia and Jo Sharp Silk Road Tweed. Both for $6.50 – need I say more?

The book release for “Things I Learned From Knitting” was great fun and, as expected, Stephanie brought the house down. Best to let her tell it, I think. I am in the upper balcony, casting on for my second Reversai sock – I finished the toe of the first one just as she was coming on stage after Andy and Michael’s musical intro (they were fantastic, btw).

Later, at the bar, Steph was a great sport and posed with my sock – that’s a Knitters without Borders pin on the cuff (and Ken in the background).

Yarn Harlot with Sock #1

And finally completed on Thursday at 4:45pm – my “Tumbling into Madness” socks:

Tumbling into Madness Socks

(Estelle Arequipa sock yarn, 2mm Addi Turbos, Magic Loop Technique)

I made it into the 3rd Round with 8 places in my division (Tennessee Twisted Knitters) to spare, my arms were about ready to drop off afterwards though.

These are completely reversible socks using the “tumbling blocks” pattern, a garter-stitch short-row heel, sole and toe (which took forever to do). Neat, but bloody annoying to knit, I have to say.

Tomorrow, I’ll fill you in about what I’ve been working on since.

TTFN.

Published in: on April 5, 2008 at 11:46 pm  Leave a Comment  
Tags: , , ,

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://alynxia.wordpress.com/2008/04/05/have-sock-will-travel/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

Leave a Reply

