Howling at La Luna

It’s done! It’s finally done!

Luna Moth Shawl - complete

The Luna Moth shawl is now happily in it’s new home at the shop.

Look how diaphanous it is!

Luna Moth on chair Luna Moth Shawl - close up

It was driving me a bit batty near the end. I ended up using only 2 skeins of Tilli Tomas Voile de la Mer in “Mermaid” on 3.75mm Addis and had about the size of a hazelnut or small gumball left. Silk and my wrists do not mix too well – had 2 CTS flareups during this project. It’s a great beginner lace pattern but to tell you the truth, I got quite bored with it about 4 repeats in. Must be my Ravenclaw nature.

In the spirit of National Crochet Month, I’ve finished the first of 12 filler squares for my Mission Falls Sampler Afghan (2008 12″ Crochet Square CAL). I gotta say, I’m having a ball with this CAL and want to do one of these every year!! Okay here’s the square:

Esther's Square

It’s the Esther’s Square pattern done in Mission Falls 1824 Wool (Denim 021 and Raven 005) using a 5mm hook. I’ve also made out a master list of the 24 colours I’m using for the afghan so I don’t have to stress it anymore – just grab a ball and go.

The swatch for the Mystic Light shawl was released. Anna gave it to us in the form of pulse warmers – what a great idea! The pattern is cabled so I made my final decision on yarn as Auraucania Nature Wool in colour 33 (Rust). I’m going to knit the shawl on 4.5mm needles. Whatcha think?

Mystic Light Pulse Warmers Mystic Light Swatch

As part of my Oddballs group on Ravelry this month, we were challenged to use a non-traditional medium for a project. So Little Robin Redbreast was hatched:

Little Robin Redbreast Little Robin Redbreast - profile

Believe it or not, he’s made out of heavy duty jute twine. I used the Berocco Bluebird pattern. His bead is out of leftover Phentex from Fiona’s beach tote, I used a magic marker for his eyes and makeup for his belly. At 5″ high he came out a bit bigger than expected, but, oh so cute!

A little more progress has been made on the Carnivale du Printemps socks:

Carnivale du Printemps Socks

The yarn is looking tremendously purple right now – I’m hoping the green and gold will show a bit more as I go.

My Fleece Artist Garter Stitch Jacket only needs the sleeves now! I motored on this the other day and couldn’t believe how much I got done.

Garter Stitch Jacket - sleeveless

I’ve been trying to clear up some UFOs in prep for the KALs coming up this month.

And none too soon – Sock Madness 2 starts tomorrow! I completely forgot signing up for this one (sorry guys) and was a bit freaked out this morning to find that I only had 24 hrs to prep for Round 1! I don’t quite know whether to be terrified or excited.

The divisions are based on Women’s Basketball Teams and I’m in the Tennessee Twisted Knitters. Bring it on!

A bit of stash diving came up with the right yarn as the specs we’ve been given are for a solid/semi-solid “scary” yarn at a gauge of 8 sts/inch. This’ll work:

Trekking XXL - Colour 76

Trekking XXL in colour 76 which Yarndex calls “blacks, reds, browns” but totally looks deep purple to me. Once I see the pattern I’ll decide whether to use 2mm or 2.25mm.

Guess what I’m going to be up to the next few days?…

Published in: on March 12, 2008 at 5:25 pm  Comments (1)  
Tags: , , , , , , , ,

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://alynxia.wordpress.com/2008/03/12/howling-at-la-luna/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

One CommentLeave a comment

  1. The knit bracelet is so pretty! Also, the jute bird came out really cute. I like that you used a red color for the beak.
    I want to try the Ester’s square some day. It has such an unusual stitch.


Leave a Reply

