Think Warm Thoughts…

Happy Valentines Day!

There is just something about sub-zero weather that makes me want to make blankets.

As the mercury plummeted and the snow flew these last couple of weeks, I have been completely pre-occupied with working on my afghan projects.

I’m now up to 45 stripes on my Vintage Vertical Stripe Afghan and will soon need to search out some more scrap Lopi wool for it.

VVS Afghan - 45 rows

The February project for the 12″ Crocheted Block a Month CAL is called “Cross My Heart” by John Davis.

Cross My Heart Square

Mission Falls 1824 Wool (Colour 009), Debbie Bliss Merino Aran (Black) & Easy Knit Mercerized Wool (Black) [I ran out].

I pulled my Log Cabin Blanket project out of hibernation when the realization hit me that bordering off the square and switching to solid semi-Modrian blocks would both look cool and use up ALL the yarn. Another stalled project well on it’s way to completion – yay! 3 more colour blocks and the border to go.

Log Cabin Blanket

The first “Tea on the Sea” sock is done:

Tea on the Sea Socks - Sock 1 done Tea on the Sea Socks (Cable Close-up)

When working the foot pattern I got a little carried away and ended up having it longer than normal so ended up shortening the toe – no problem, it fits beautifully even if the toe is wider than I normally do.

BadgerDan and I went into Toronto for a meeting yesterday which had me scrambling a bit for something simple to take with me as the majority of my current projects are not too transportable. I grabbed a ball of Knit Picks Memories (S’mores colourway) from my sock stash and started a standard 72 stitch sock on 2mm DPNs. I did 3″ of 2×2 ribbing for the cuff and I’ll decide on the kind of heel when I get there.

Simple S'mores Socks

The grey-blue colour kind of has me stumped as to which part of the s’more it’s from – campfire ash maybe?

And… if I’m anywhere near downtown TO, it means yarn pron from Romni and Lettuce Knit.

At Romni I grabbed a couple of balls of Noro Kureyon (on sale!!!) in a colourway I absolutely adore (172).

Noro Kureyon 172

Lettuce Knit held a wonderful surprise for me – they still had some skeins of Socks That Rock left! Squee! (Some of you might not think this is such a big deal, but this is the first time in the few years that I’ve known of it’s existence that I’ve been able to pet it, love it and call it George.) Behold it’s froggy glory:

Blue Moon STR Lightwt - Froggin'

And some gorgeous Fleece Artist Merino/Alpaca Sliver Roving came home with me too.

Fleece Artist Merino/Alpaca Sliver

In other news:

I’ve finally reached the lace skirt of the Austermann Abotanicity Sweater – it should move pretty fast now.

Austermann Abotanicity Sweater - Bodice

A couple of projects have been shelved:

Minimalist Cardigan – ripped out and red lambswool given to my friend Angel (for her 1st shawl! I’m so proud of her)

Spring Surprise Shawl – the cotton just wasn’t working out either. I’ll restart this one again come summertime with a better yarn. I have a couple of options that I’m thinking about.

And talking about shelves…

Hutch Bookshelves

In one of my power-putter modes, I re-organized all of our books and “Frankenstein”ed a couple of shelves for the corner of our living room last Saturday. It has finally been completely reclaimed from winter holiday madness and neglect. Looks good – no?

Tomi & Mav

Everyone’s a critic….

Published in: on February 14, 2008 at 10:43 pm  Comments (1)  
Tags: , , , , , , ,

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://alynxia.wordpress.com/2008/02/14/think-warm-thoughts/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

One CommentLeave a comment

  1. Cute log cabin blanket! I love all the colors. Also, the heart square is certainly popular this month. I like the black with the red in yours. Such a beautiful square!


Leave a Reply

