Getting Hooked

I crocheted long before I ever picked up the pointy sticks and run back to it’s simplicity every now and then. I can whip something up so quickly and not even have to really think about it. Joining some CALs on Ravelry really got me excited about crochet again.

Looking back over the past month, I’m actually quite surprised at how much has come off my hook:

Dreamcatcher Square

This is the first of 12 pattern squares for a sampler afghan I’m making as part of the 2008 12″ Crochet Block-a-Month CAL. It’s called the Dreamcatcher square and it’s out of Mission Falls 1824 Wool and Debbie Bliss Merino Aran (Black). Each pattern square will be out of a different colour of the Mission Falls with the last round in black. When all 12 squares are done, I plan on knitting them together with black mitred squares (a la Domino Knitting by Vivian Hoxbro). This took maybe 2 hours to do.

[Just for the record – I’m using up a stash ball of the Debbie Bliss before buying more black in the 1824 Wool – it’s black, it’s a blanket, so sue me.]

Vintage Vertical Stripe Afghan (21 rows)

This is my Vintage Vertical Stripe Afghan so far. I’m making it entirely out of leftover, frogged and donated Lopi/Icelandic Chunky wool using a 6mm hook. Totally retro, warm and feltable if I so choose. It’s also therapy as I am forcing myself to make the stripes as random as possible by changing colours every row – not easy for me so there may be a few stripe patterns occurring intermittently throughout the blanket.

In amongst the hoard of mercerized cotton crochet thread given to me lately by the lovely Fiona there were a couple of strange orphan balls of polyester yarn. The first was a ball of 2″ wide tape or rags (possibly for rug making) in a Harvest Gold colour which I immediately made into a small yarn basket using the biggest hook I could find.

Yarn Caddy Basket Yarn Caddy Basket (Side View)

Ain’t it cute?

The second ball was some rust-coloured Phentex of the “icky, cringe, shudder” variety. Rather than pass it along again to the charity shop from which it came I decided to make it into something useful for Fiona.

Using my favorite ancient crocheted bag pattern (from Women’s Day, December 1972):

Women's Day, December 1972

This is what it looks like so far:

Crocheted Tote Bag - Phentex

Here is one I made a few years back out of cotton string (which I love – I keep my socks in it):

Crocheted Tote Bag - Cotton

January 23rd was my birthday and BadgerDan gave me a new camera (yee!).

New Camera which does not as of yet talk to my laptop (bloody Linux….) but will chat with our server so hopefully there will be a lot more photos on the blog.

I’ve been working on a few projects for the shop:

Disco Lights Purse Disco Lights Purse - Liner

This is Square Cake from the latest Knitty made from Tilli Tomas Disco Lights in “American Beauty” on 3.5mm needles. I made the smaller version and lined it with a striped rayon fabric. Purty hunh? (And look how much is left over!)

Felt Ballerina Slippers FibreTrends Pattern

These are (pre-felting) Felt Ballerina Slippers by FibreTrends (see above right) made out of worsted weight Auraucania Nature Wool in a russet colour (033). As soon as Wendy felts them I’ll post a picture, but you get the idea.

I’m also working on a Luna Moth shawl for the store out of 3 hanks of Tilli Tomas Voile de la Mer “Mermaid” on 3.5mm needles. It’s going to be gorgeous.

Luna Moth Shawl - Photo 1

Okay, I think that’s it for now. Next entry – a sock update and what you can do with second-hand sweaters.

Published in: on January 31, 2008 at 7:32 pm  Comments (1)  
Tags: , , , , , , ,

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://alynxia.wordpress.com/2008/01/31/getting-hooked/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

One CommentLeave a comment

  1. really good one and thanks for it.

    http://www.indiamatrimony.com for indian matrimonials


Leave a Reply

