Distractions

I was going to comment on Sunday’s storm (which turned out to be the heaviest in 63 years), but suffice it to say we got 26 cm (9.85″) of snow in 24 hours. I am so glad we live in an apartment now and don’t have a driveway to shovel.

I’ve been working until 8pm at the shop almost every day and BadgerDan has been in Barrie all week so we’ve barely seen each other in a coherent state. Trust me, you do not want to see the state of my kitchen at the moment or the rest of the place for that matter. It looks like we were invaded by the gang from “Animal House“.

Even with work, I’ve managed to squeeze in some knitting:

Garter Stitch Jacket, Back Completed

The back of my Fleece Artist Garter Stitch Jacket is now done.

French Fable Socks

My French Fable socks are well on their way to being finished. I had to shorten the foot by 2 repeats. I should be done the pair tonight.

I was distracted by some stash yarn that wouldn’t leave me alone until I used them so:

2 balls of Malabrigo Merino Worsted in “Loro Barraquo” became

Celtic Vest

a “Celtic Vest” designed by Fleece Artist. It still needs a bit of blocking, but it flew off the needles. I can see me wearing this A LOT.

Earlier this year, I went on the Yarn Harlot Yarn Crawl in Toronto where we hit a wonderful shop called Americo Original. When we were there, I picked up a hank of their Dos Cabos 100% Handspun Llama. Super Bulky Heaven.

However, I wasn’t sure what I would make with it. I finally decided to end my agony of many months and made myself a simple garter stitch scarf with it.

Llama Garter Stitch Scarf

On 12mm needles it worked up in no time and to jazz it up, I added wooden beads to the tassels.

Beaded Scarf

Finished last night – I had forgotten how beautiful “basic” can be.

Every now and then I take on some commission knitting, and this was one project I couldn’t say “no” to. Knit for a 2 month old baby girl for a Christmas Gift – it’s her first Teddy Bear.

Baby Teddy Bear

It is made in Blue Sky Organic Dyed Cotton Worsted on 3.75mm DPNs from the “One Seam Teddy Bear” pattern by Eva McDonald.

Every child needs a stuffed bear – `nuff said.

Now that the DH has left to take his dad Christmas shopping, I sit staring at the chaos that is my living room and I realize (to my horror) that knitting might not be a priority at the moment. Dishes and laundry beckon to be attended to before I have to work the afternoon shift.

Crap. Being a grown-up really does suck sometimes.

Published in: on December 22, 2007 at 12:51 pm  Leave a Comment  
Tags: , , , , ,

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://alynxia.wordpress.com/2007/12/22/distractions/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

Leave a Reply

