Catching up

This Thanksgiving holiday weekend was a bit of a whirlwind for BadgerDan and I this year.

Saturday was the last Newmarket Farmer’s Market day of the year and we managed to pick up (among other things) some wonderful locally harvested apples, fresh-pressed wild blueberry-apple cider, home-baked pies (for below) and some of the best Kettle Corn I have ever tasted.

That night, we were invited by some friends in Toronto to a pig roast (on a spit and everything).  Not normally our cup of tea, but since it was this particular set of friends we figured that we had better go or else no one would get fed.  DH usually does the BBQing at these get-togethers and true to form, they had the meat too high on the spit (in the rain – no less) so it wasn’t cooking.  5 hours later, DH had rescued the pig (and the chicken for us who don’t like pork, which was getting charred). I swear, he was covered in mud from the yard and smelled like a sausage by the end of the night.  I had forgotten my camera at home (oops!) so no photos this time, but if you react the same way that I did when I saw the poor beast – you’ll thank me.

We both had to work Sunday, so we were on the road home at 4am so that BadgerDan could clean up at home and still make his 8am start in Barrie.  Needless to say, caffiene is a wonderful thing.

After a busy afternoon at the shop and a sushi dinner (thanks, Hon!),  I worked on the second Shooting Sock and finally finished the grafting the toe at around 1am.

Shooting Socks - Completed

This is the “Gentleman’s Shooting Stockings in Fluted Pattern” from Knitting Vintage Socks by Nancy Bush and was the August-September pattern for the KVS KAL. I lengthened the leg by 2 inches so that the calf shaping hit me in the right spot.  I do like a pair of kneesocks, but when you make them on 2mm needles with 4-ply fingering wool – they take a wee while to knit.

Shooting Socks - pair

Deciding that I had to finish the pair before I would be allowed to work on the new clues for my Mystery KALs as incentive, I’m still quite surprised that it took me as long to complete as it did.

My family Thanksgiving get-together was on Monday and it was wonderful that we all were able to be there. BadgerDan usually works holidays (when industrial plants are shut down, he gets called in to do big jobs) so a long weekend is a bit of a novelty for us.  Factor in that my sister lives 4-5 hrs away in Ottawa and my parents and brother live 2 hrs away in Milton, you can begin to understand why we tend to only see each other about 4 times a year.

This is also the first family meal we’ve had together where I’ve been on a gluten-free diet (long story – not now).  Thankfully, it wasn’t that hard to alter the menu.  Mom used cornstarch for the gravy instead of flour, kept one side of the turkey “stuffing-free”, and we had one of my favorite childhood desserts – homemade lemon pudding and bananas topped with meringue (yum!)

I managed to finish Clue 4 on my Autumn Mystery Shawl today:

Autumn Shawl - clue 4

One more clue and it’s done! This shawl has been a joy to work on and has been my reward for a week of plodding along on the Shooting Sock and Halloween Shawl. I can hardly wait to see it completed and blocked out.

I have a lace repair to do for a client and Stitch & Bitch tomorrow night (Minimalist Cardigan), so I’m going to hold off doing Clue 2 of the Halloween Mystery Shawl until Thursday and tonight possibly whip up that lace swatch (read “dishcloth”) I’ve been meaning to do for my Arctic Lace KAL.

Maybe I can catch up on my sleep while I’m at it!

TTFN

Published in: on October 9, 2007 at 7:57 pm  Leave a Comment  
Tags: , , , ,

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://alynxia.wordpress.com/2007/10/09/catching-up/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

Leave a Reply

