2007 – A Lace Odyssey

Thursday already – where did the week go? Oh yeah, lace knitting. It took me three days, but I finally finished Clue 1 of the Halloween Mystery Shawl.

Halloween Mystery Shawl - Clue 1

That was one hefty chunk of some complicated lace knitting. And it’s only one of 4 big lace projects I have on the needles right now.

There’s my Tessa Shawl which I started last summer:

Tessa Shawl Border

It’s a faroese style shawl that is knit from the border up. I’ve picked up the 500 odd stitches and have started work on the body, but got a little distracted with this:

My Swan Lake Scarf (aka Mystery Stole 3)

Swan Lake Scarf

I’m working the symmetrical version with centre insert and am on Clue 2 of the 2nd side at this point.

There’s also the Autumn Mystery Shawl KAL and the Arctic Lace KAL that I’ve just joined recently. Not to mention all the lace scarves I want to make for holiday gifts…I must be losing my
mind…(“Dave, what are you doing Dave?”)

I worked all day Tuesday and was actually too tired to knit Tuesday night so I made it a book night:

Going Gently

“Going gently is something Kate Thomas has never been good at. On the eve of her 100th birthday, she reviews her turbulent life from her hospital bed. This is not just an escape from the mad, bad and sad characters around her, but also a search for the truth – about life, death, and which of her three sons murdered her fifth husband.”

I’m thoroughly enjoying this book and highly recommend it.

I picked up a few things this week:

Needles, Markers, MerinoCashmere

A couple of pairs of circs and a WPI tool from KnitPicks, a set of very pretty silver Dangle-Free Stitch Marker (bad photo, sorry) from Hide and Sheep (they will be perfect for lace projects – oh, no, not the lace again!), and found a couple of balls of Mondial Gold Fingering Wt Merino/Cashmere hiding in the back room (40% off!!) at Needles and Knits.

I was also able to bring home my Fleece Artist Garter Stitch Jacket Kit (which was chosen long before Stephanie mentioned it on her blog):

Garter Stitch Jacket Kit

It’s their “Rainforest” Colourway and is actually a lot more green than it looks in the picture.

And my absolute favorite score of the week:

Needle Bag

My new Needle Bag!!!! It holds ALL of my needles (including 14″s) and is fully lined heavy cotton so I can use it as a knitting bag later if I want to. My sock needle roll, pencil case of 8″ DPNs, large accessory bag, and my circs (individual bags within a large Ziploc) all fit beautifully inside and there’s room for more!

The best part – I found it for $1.99 at Value Village. (Yeee!!)

On the sock front, I’m hoping to finish the mate to this Shooting Sock before the weekend when the whole lace rollercoaster starts again.

Shooting Socks

Wish me luck!

Published in: on October 4, 2007 at 7:04 pm  Leave a Comment  
Tags: , , , , ,

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://alynxia.wordpress.com/2007/10/04/2007-a-lace-odyssey/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

Leave a Reply

