I must obey the yarn

Okay, first I apologize for the long (2 weeks!!!) delay in posting. I’ve been pretty focused on my knitting projects and hanging out with my buddies over on Plurk.

The good news is that I now have a whole bunch of FINISHED projects to show you!!!

NOTE: I’m linking to the project details on Ravelry so I don’t clutter up the post too much. If you aren’t on Ravelry – click on the Flickr address and the main specs are with the photos.

Let’s start with some socks, shall we???

After a rather weak start on my part for Summer of Socks 2008, I’ve picked up the pace:

New England Socks - Done New England Socks - Complete

New England Socks – DONE!

Nanner Socks - Done Nanner Socks - Complete

Nanner Socks – DONE!

Magical Mystery Tour Socks - Sock 1 Done

Magical Mystery Tour Socks – Sock #1 DONE!

2008 SOS Socks - Done 2008 SOS Socks - Complete

2008 SOS Socks
– DONE!

You haven’t seen these ones before – it’s another WendyKnits pattern “2008 Summer Socks”. I played with it a little by using a sportweight yarn (Zen String Lotus Toes Sport, “Mount Monadnock” – so pretty!) on 2.75mm needles and using the 6″ size instructions. I also did a plain foot on these ones.

And begun last night…

Whitby Socks - Sock #1, 4

Whitby Socks by Nancy Bush. These are the July/August “Knitting on the Road” KAL socks. Again, I’ve up-sized the yarn to a light worsted “mercerized” wool (Georga 100% Wool, Brown) and the needles to 3mm. Other than that, following the pattern to the letter (it’s written for fingering wt on 2.75mm which just isn’t durable enough for me). Perfect socks for the fall with my clogs.

So the sock tally now stands thusly: 2008 – 20 pairs, 52 Pair Plunge II – 7 pairs, Summer of Socks 2008 – 4 pairs (1 single and 1 partial).

Not bad – not bad at all.

I’ve taken a small break from the KAL shawls and have decided that I’m actually going to rip out one of them for good.

Slow Bee Shawl

The Slow Bee Shawl pattern just doesn’t do it for me. Thankfully, I have found a different shawl that will work perfectly with the yarn and beads (which is good because 3 hanks of Misti Alpaca Handpaint Lace and 2000 silver beads don’t come cheap).

When I saw the Diamond Sage Wrap in the latest Interweave Crochet, I simply fell in love:

Diamond Sage Wrap

Things just have a way of working themselves out beautifully, now don’t they? :)

A project that had been at the back of my mind for a while finally got put onto the needles. I had these 2 balls of Opal Rainforest “Tiger” sock yarn that I originally started to make into a Convertible a couple of years back, but found it too busy so I had ripped it out and threw the balls back into the sock stash. Lately, there have been quite a few customers at the shop coming in wanting to make Clapotis and then a discussion over on Plurk (yes, Harley’s Mom, I’m talking about you :) ) finally put me over the edge.

Tiger Clapotis - Section 3 begun

Meow.

Remember the yarn from last post? Well, after a lot of searching and a productive trip to the local library, I found a cabled cardigan pattern for it!

Sensational Cabled Cardigan

It’s the Sensational Shirttail cardigan by Ann Regis from “Arans & Celtics: the Best of Knitters“. By shortening the sweater by 4″ (it’s pretty long) and doing a contrasting collar and cuffs, I should be able to squeak by with my yardage. Here’s the back so far:

Sensational Cabled Cardigan - Back

The Dishcloth Report:

I was not enthused with the July 13th weekly KAL cloth so I knit another “Mason-Dixon special” instead:

Ballband Dishcloth

Pattern: Ballband Dishcloth by Kay Gardiner and Ann Shayne (Mason-Dixon Knitting)
Yarn: Bernat Handicrafter Cotton, Burgundy & Natural Ombre
Needles: 3.25mm

This is a 33 st (7″) version with single crochet down the “rough” sides.

And last week’s cloth:

4-Corners Dishcloth

Pattern: 4-Corners Dishcloth by 1870 Pearl
Yarn: Georga Cotton, Swizzle
Needles: 3.25mm

This one I’ll probably make again.

Some Yarn Pr0n:

See Jayne Knit - Happy Accident

I fell and fell hard when I spotted these on See Jayne Knit’s etsy site. 400yds of handdyed mercerized worsted weight woolly glory called “Happy Accident”. I see a stunning version of one of these in my immediate future:

Backyard Leaves Scarf by Annie Modesitt

A new shipment of my drug of choice arrived at the shop last week, so of course one of them came home with me:

Fleece Artist Merino Sock - Earth

This colourway is called “Earth”. OMG is it gorgeous. I may just have to use it and another FA golden brown colourway I have for a future shawl project.

Hmmm, have I forgotten anything?? Oh, yeah!

New Appliances

We have acheived “kitchen”. :)

TTFN.

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: http://alynxia.wordpress.com/2008/07/29/i-must-obey-the-yarn/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

2 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. HI Alynxia,

    checking you out from plurk. You have been a busy girl and love the socks, the shirttail aran (which I want to knit also) and your new fridge!!!

  2. Wow! How have you gotten that much knitting done between Plurks?? And I’m so glad to see that someone else succumbed to the Clapotis. One started itself on my needles last Saturday, and you’re the first person I’ve told. Shhh….


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

